Rockingham Castle

Rockingham Castle opinie, Market Harborough

Rockingham Castle
4.5
Tuesday
12:00 - 17:00
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Czym jest nagroda Travellers’ Choice?
Nagroda Travellers’ Choice przyznawana jest obiektom zakwaterowania, atrakcjom i restauracjom, które stale zbierają świetne recenzje i należą do najlepszych 10% obiektów na stronie Tripadvisor.
The area
Address

4.5
357 reviews
Excellent
196
Very good
117
Average
28
Poor
8
Terrible
8

Oly693
3 contributions
Lovely afternoon
maj 2021 • Dla rodziny
Delightful family afternoon trundling through the gardens. Was surprisingly quiet but made for a special afternoon, the Roaming Giraffe coffee stall was a nice added bonus. Will definitely return.
Written 2 maja 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anne Marie G
780 contributions
Smashing 2.5 hours
We hadn't visited Rockingham castle for a few years.So went online and found booking was easy.Received an email reminder couple of days before .
Small queue of cars at entrance point whilst staff member checked booking details and gave out maps.Might be quicker to have a map of estate on a board so visitors can take a photo of it or download the map online which we had already done.Greeted at car park by Chris(lives in the castle) who later patiently anwered our questions about the civil war and what we were seeing on the skyline even though his coffee was going cold! Apologies Chris and thank you for going above and beyond.
The yew topiary is fascinating and
the wild garden was very peaceful(pet cemetery is on the ridge looking back towards the castle.Neatly kept gardens and the rose garden will be beautiful in another month when in bloom.
Plenty of seating in the courtyard where coffees etc are served from a van.Social distancing observed and not too mamy visitors in any space we visited.£8 each for garden visit is reasonable.Enjoyable day and will return.

Written 26 kwietnia 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

angelawA6201UJ
Market Harborough55 contributions
Haunting Halloween!
paź 2020 • Dla rodziny
We visited here for the Halloween activities as a family of 3 (with our 10 year old daughter).
Excellent Covid measures in place.
We enjoyed the pumpkin rolling and the trail around the garden)
The goodie bag was much appreciated by our daughter!
We had lunch in the restaurant which was delicious - fresh baguettes, yummy homemade soup and cake. Plenty of staff who were all friendly and courteous.
Our tour of the castle was excellent. The witch who conducted the tour (Claire) ensured we kept 2m between each “bubble”. She was knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour was enjoyed by all ages and was also educational. The children were given the chance to read “spells” so they were kept involved and enthused.
It was a shame the gift shop wasn’t open as in past years we have bought a few items. However, we totally understood why (it was being used as the exit from the tour due to the one way system) and there was a small gift shop in a marquee.
A thoroughly enjoyable and excellent value for money day out.
Written 30 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diane G
39 contributions
Family day out
paź 2020 • Dla rodziny
Went for the a Halloween experience, children loved the pumpkin rolling down the hill, and the house tour.
Had a drink at the cafe as well.
Covid Precautions were great.
Written 29 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LivingInTheSun
Chesterfield, UK7 contributions
Spooky Hallowe’en Fun
paź 2020 • Dla rodziny
Visited Rockingham Castle yesterday on a very rainy and cold day. We were greeted by a friendly lady at the ticket office who promptly booked us in.
My 6yr old was keen to do the pumpkin rolling, what a fantastic idea and something a bit different. Lorraine and Henry (staff) were on hand to guide us and were great with my son giving him hints on which direction to aim for!!We didnt experience any of the negative things highlighted in previous reviews, infact, I would say totally the opposite. We had a walk around the gardens completing the trail/quiz then had lunch in the tearoom. Yummy hot chocolate and spicy parsnip soup to warm us up. The tour of the castle was a pre-booked time. A witch came out to meet us and she did a fantastic job of keeping all the children on our tour engaged throughout with spooky stories.
From someone who has previously worked at a prestigious castle in Leicestershire I can honestly say Rockingham has got it spot on! You can feel that it really is a family affair and it made a nice change to visit somewhere where you werent being robbed blind for everything. Was most definitely worth the hour drive and I will definitely be visiting again.
Written 28 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hevans
5 contributions
Halloween tour
paź 2020 • Dla rodziny
Had an excellent Halloween tour today at Rockingham Castle.
Well organised and friendly witches...I mean staff.
Started our tour with pumpkin rolling with a kind help of guide Lorraine who made us feel very welcome and gave useful tips on pumpkin rolling techniques.
We then followed the pumpkin trail around the gardens before having a lunch in the cafe...eating The deadman’s finger in the bandage and Witches toenails with cheesy maggots, tasted much better than it sounded!
Again friendly service and cafe was nice and warm to shelter away from rainy weather outside.
Also enjoyed our spooky tour around the house so all and all a good day out.
Written 27 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa
Kettering, UK1 contribution
Halloween disappointment
paź 2020 • Biznesowy
Visited for Halloween event today with my excited mindees! We chose the garden visit as we had buggies and toddlers!
We were made to feel incredibly uncomfortable from the off set by the lady responsible for pumpkin rolling. The children were tutted at for rolling too hard, the wrong direction, using too much hand sanitiser and generally for being children! We were told that they HAD to complete all of the booklet OR ELSE they wouldn’t get a goodie bag!
After completing it we returned to collect our treat bags and were told that our 2 yr olds were not allowed one as we hadn’t paid to go in the house and we had ONLY paid the £2.50 for them!!! Apparently one Freddo and a few ‘penny sweets’ cost over £2:50!!!????
We wouldn’t have minded but nowhere was it printed or displayed that under 2’s were not eligible!! Plus they cost the same as our 2-3 yr olds!!! We paid over £40 for our visit and came away feeling deflated!!
Safe to say that we will not be returning!! Clearly children are NOT welcome here!!
Written 22 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Customer, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Rockingham Castles Halloween event. The whole event is designed for Children and all Children should have received a goodie bag regardless of their age. Our apologies you were not given one, if we had know on the day we would have certainly resolved this for you. We do hope to welcome you all back to Rockingham Castle for future events. Best wishes Rockingham Castle team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ian S
Kettering, UK681 contributions
Excellent place to visit
sie 2020 • Pary
A real castle but also still lived in and owned by the same family for 500 years.
At present you have to book this online to tour the castle and gardens. We have been before for the Christmas tours so we’re delighted to see it in summer. Our guide, Mike, was excellent and knowledgable about the house and family....the tour took around an hour which went very quickly indeed. Naturally you come out through the gift shop which has some nice things and helpful staff.
We decided by 1.30pm that we ought to get something to eat. At present you queue at a tent and place your order. We only wanted a baguette each but this took a full 40 minutes to arrive. We thought this was unacceptable. Bearing in mind that numbers for each tour are limited at present and that I was third in the queue, we would advise you to take your own picnic.
We had a limited time therefore to explore the gardens which we will have to visit again sometime.
Highlight apart from the tour for me was the stunning views across Rutland and the Welland Valley.
Written 5 sierpnia 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GOG69
Bedford, UK185 contributions
History Lesson
sie 2020
Very well organised upon entering BUT I would advise you pre book if you required a tour which we failed to do but that never spoilt our experience at all. A well managed area with superb views flower beds and gardens. We covered the area with so many walks to choose from. The Castle has clean toilets and an area for snacks but needs better organizing as the wait for was close to unbearable on this a very quiet day.
Written 5 sierpnia 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Geoff W
2 contributions
A Beautiful day
sie 2020
A short walk from the Best Western where we were staying. The grounds are in pristine condition and well looked after The process of entering was well organised but you have to pre book for a guide to take you round. The gardens were well kept and good on the eye. Well worth a 2 hour visit with clean toilets and a place to get refreshments but ordering was a lengthy process gladly we were there early and only had to wait 20 minutes for coffee and cake
Written 5 sierpnia 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 355
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Często zadawane pytania dotyczące obiektu Rockingham Castle