Milton Keynes Museum

Milton Keynes Museum opinie, Wolverton

Milton Keynes Museum
4.5
About
Suggested duration
> 3 godziny
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Czym jest nagroda Travellers’ Choice?
Nagroda Travellers’ Choice przyznawana jest obiektom zakwaterowania, atrakcjom i restauracjom, które stale zbierają świetne recenzje i należą do najlepszych 10% obiektów na stronie Tripadvisor.
The area
Address
Best nearby
Kolejność restauracji i atrakcji w rankingu ustalana jest na podstawie recenzji nadesłanych przez użytkowników oraz ich odległości od oglądanego obiektu.
Restaurants
287 within 5 kms
Attractions
26 within 5 kms

4.5
780 reviews
Excellent
592
Very good
159
Average
20
Poor
4
Terrible
5

Funky Junction
Northampton, UK1 contribution
Fantastic Milton Keynes Museum
paź 2020
In the current climate that we are living in it Is difficult for museums to stay afloat and now they are open again they very much relying on volunteers to help out.

Visiting the Milton Keynes Museum is a safe environment fitting with all the current guidelines, with it only allowing just the one group bubble into each of the rooms, but have a tour guide in each room to talk you through the room and give you a personal experience that you wouldn’t normally get if we were not in the middle of a panedemic. The knowledge of the staff and volunteers is amazing and it is a pleasant and knowledgable experience.

After the museum we popped into the onsite cafe which again had a fantastic personal service with table service form some lovely volunteers.

This is a great and safe place to go at this time i can give it my full recommendation.

My party size was husband and our 12 year old son.
Written 18 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Firstly, thank you so much for coming to see us; it is indeed a difficult time and we are very grateful for your support. We often get such lovely feedback about our volunteers. They are an essential part of the museum, and their knowledge is exceptional isn't it? We will pass your comments on. Their passion and dedication makes a visit really special, doesn't it? Again, we thank you for visiting, and for sharing details of your experience, and hope that you, your husband and son will come and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amanda K
14 contributions
Friendly and informative, good fun. Support your local museum during COVID
paź 2020
The volunteers were so friendly and enthusiastic. COVID has meant that a lot of things can't be handled but the volunteers were able to demonstrate them and brought them to life. The lady in the Victorian parlour made things particularly interesting.

The food in the tea room was fresh and the cakes delicious. The two ladies were helpful and inviting.

We spent well over 3 hours there and would definitely recommend it . They are clearly struggling with visitor numbers but are doing the best they can to make the experience enjoyable still.
Written 18 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Amanda, Many thanks for coming to see us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed our new way of operating during these trying times. As a hands-on museum, having to step away from that because of covid has been a test, but we are thrilled that you had a good time with our demonstrations - and our volunteers are the best, aren't they? A trip to the tea room is always a 'must-do' - now we want to go and have a slice of cake too! Your 5* review is a real boost - thank you again for taking the time to come and visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

steve o
Leighton Buzzard, UK94 contributions
Making history interesting from small details
paź 2020
Great interpretation and demonstration from the volunteers especially in the telecoms and home entertainment rooms but all were great.
Written 6 października 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for coming to see us, and for taking the time to leave such a positive review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed the demonstrations. Your support of the museum is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sahloff79
Peterborough, UK461 contributions
Hooray for MK!
wrz 2020 • Dla rodziny
A fantastic family visit to this museum housed in a former Victorian farmstead on the edge of MK.

So much to see and absorb. It’s the sort of place you can pick out a hidden gem or interesting nugget in every room. Special thanks to the wonderful volunteers whose knowledge and passion for this place shone through.

A particular highlight was the ‘connected Earth’ section. A chance to see an incredibly rare, recently restored, K3 telephone kiosk (only 4 others survive in the UK) amongst a bewildering collection of telephones and exchanges. You have to call in 📞

The vintage shops street was also very interesting with such amazing attention to detail. Brought back some memories of my childhood!

Looking forward to returning when COVID restrictions are finally lifted and the more interactive elements of the museum can be enjoyed once more.

We enjoyed a tea and homemade cake from the cafe - not fully open to the public yet - but seating outside and in a marquee.

Visit was topped off with a few photos of the world famous (original) MK concrete cows! 🐄 🐮 What a great moo-seum!
Written 26 września 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A wonderful review - thank you so much for taking the time to share details of your experience with us, and we are so happy that you had such a great visit. As you will appreciate, things are very different just now, and for a museum that prides itself on being decidedly hands-on, it is rather strange, but we have adapted so that visitors still have an engaging, interesting time with us, and your five-star review says we are doing well, which is great. Our volunteers are brilliant, aren't they? They will be thrilled by your words. Once again, thank you so much for your support, and we hope to see you back at the moo-seum again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Danielle P
Winchester, UK225 contributions
A hidden gem
wrz 2020 • Wyjazd w pojedynkę
I had a rare “day off” from Motherhood and decided to visit the museum. I didn’t know what to expect but I was very pleasantly surprised. I was lucky enough to visit during a car show which was great but the house/museum itself was fantastic. The volunteers were utterly amazing. They were knowledgeable and friendly and they all seemed to love what they were doing-which really says it all. The lady who showed me around the main front room and the music room was so, so lovely! I thoroughly enjoyed browsing around the house/museum at my own pace (lucky for me it was quiet) and although things are still not fully open and it’s not hands-on, which I was told it usually is, you can still spend a couple of hours looking around. I know my children would just love this place-especially the telephone exchange! I’ve never seen anything quite like it before! I enjoyed wandering around the Victorian garden too. Very tranquil. Thanks to all staff and volunteers for making wonderful memories!
Written 14 września 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, Danielle, the volunteers will be thrilled by your words. Our volunteers are the heartbeat of the museum and they had been desperate to get back following the lockdown - your 5* endorsement is wonderful. The telephone exchange is such a popular part of the museum - with children and adults of all ages, and we agree, the garden is a little haven, full of bees and greenery. Thank you for taking the time to share details of your experience, and do come back with your children. A warm welcome will be waiting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MrQuiet1949
Londyn, UK348 contributions
An interesting place to visit.
mar 2020 • Dla rodziny
An interesting place to visit. The weather was awful so we decided to visit the museum and so glad that we did. Everything from some of the first gramophones to early games and machinery of all sorts. Plenty of exhibits which you can interact with and even an opportunity to toast some bread over a fire just like our grandparents did. The staff were very impressive with their knowledge and friendliness.
Rounded off with a tasty bacon sandwich served by the lovely ladies in traditional dress.
Written 15 marca 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for a lovely review - it's great to start the week with such positivity. The museum is all about interaction, so we are thrilled that you picked up on that. Toasting bread over the fire is always a hit with visitors, and not least during the winter months when the kitchen is a warm hub! Our volunteers are passionate about the museum and they are so knowledgeable - they will be thrilled by your kind words. Thanks again for coming to see us, and remember; your ticket is valid for 12 months, so do call in again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian H
Milton Keynes, UK12 contributions
Great visit. A place to go back to.
sie 2019
Visited a few times. Always see something different. The staff are known a lot about the history of Milton Keynes. Also show you how to use the interactive parts of the museum good for adults and children. Will be going back.
Written 10 marca 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ian D
2 contributions
Cream teas
mar 2020 • Biznesowy
Took 93 year old grandmother for cream teas and to visit museum went for cream teas 1st position of table very good looking out on to the court yard table was dressed nice nice fine bone china cups and the sandwiches cakes mouth watering and the lady we spoke to has been doing tea room over 20 years says bakes and makes the food she and her staff so lovely dresses in Victorian dresses which made it extra special defo will be returning we had cream teas at more expensive places but this experience at the museum is the best we had and pleasure we visited rest of museum so much very interesting the gentleman in the Victorian room 1940 so knowledge telling us history about it amazing telecoms rooms and gramaphone room really good so much to see and do for adults kids and senior citizens didnt realise all this and been living locally 10 years grandmother worked at bletchley park back in the day and mt one of the volunteers at the museum who also worked at bletchley park day in the day so was reminseing about the pass
Thank you mk museum for a lovely day and to all people out there it's good value for money 12 admission it's a no brainer
Written 8 marca 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for visiting us and for taking the time to leave such a lovely, detailed review. I will pass on your comments to our volunteers who will be thrilled. People love our cafe with its mouth-watering cakes and cream teas. They are special, aren't they? You paint such a wonderful, vivid picture of your visit and it's great that you mentioned the museum has something for all ages to enjoy, because we really do. We are so pleased that your grandmother had such a wonderful time reminiscing with us. Everyone here will be wearing big smiles today thanks to your lovely review, so thanks again. Please do come back soon - your ticket entitles you to free entry for the following 12 months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dalerobertyork
York, UK74 contributions
Excellent visitor experience in every way
wrz 2019
Visited here in September 2019 and really enjoyed it. The museum staff were very friendly and the farmhouse and old shops had a lot of fascinating displays and curiosities. The tea room was very reasonably price, as was the gift shop. We spent 4 hours here and I would visit again. Much better than Bletchley Park in every aspect of our visitor experience.
Written 25 lutego 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We strive to make everyone's visit here a friendly, fun, informative one and your words show that we are getting things right, which makes us very happy. It's also great that you enjoyed our gift shop. We always make sure we have lots of small gifts included in our store - perfect pocket money buys! Hopefully you'll be able to join us again at some point in the future - your ticket gives free re-admission for 12 months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jillian S
Sheffield Green, UK2 contributions
Very Interesting Place
lut 2020 • Pary
We were looking for something to do whilst visiting Milton Keynes and came across this Musium, we were not disappointed, it was very interesting and would suit all ages and very reasonably priced, 5 stars all round 😁👍
Written 23 lutego 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to come and see us while you were visiting Milton Keynes. We are thrilled that you had such a good time, and that you think we are reasonably priced (we try to hard to keep costs down so that we can welcome everyone) You also said that there is something for all, irrespective of age. You have completely understood what we are all about. Thank you! If you are ever back in MK, we hope you will stop off and see us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 778
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Często zadawane pytania dotyczące obiektu Milton Keynes Museum